Cute and Understated: Thoughts on Sasaki and Miyano Anime

This is written from the point of view of someone new to both BLs and anime. Hence, I would not be able to compare the cliches. I would only describe my viewing experiences with as few spoilers as possible. Enjoy reading 🙂

Miyano Yoshikazu
Sasaki Shuumei

They meet after three months, and their friendship starts when Miyano lends him a manga (a BL one). The next day, Sasaki expresses his enjoyment in reading the manga, although he says that he didn’t expect it to be a romance between two male characters. Excited, Miyano starts to info-dump on the manga and what BLs are in general. His genuine happiness when he does that causes Sasaki to develop budding feelings for him, as he finds him cute. Their manga-exchange and meeting each other gets more frequent with time. This anime has 12 episodes, with an extra 13th as a special one. A movie is made as a sequel, titled “Sasaki and Miyano: Graduation”, and both the series and movie are available on Netflix.

Ogasawara Jirou

I liked how the concept of questioning one’s sexuality was shown. Miyano might be a fudanshi, but was certain that he liked girls. However, he was confused about his feelings for Sasaki since he didn’t want any BL story to come at real life, or that if he read too many BL mangas. For a long time, he was pretty much uncertain about it, although his reactions were pretty indicative that Sasaki’s feelings are reciprocated. That itself took its time. I couldn’t actually tell the exact scene as to when Miyano started to have feelings for Sasaki, because his feelings took its time. And there was no such homophobia present. When Sasaki confessed to Miyano, he wasn’t disgusted by it or questioned it, he was very sure that he like him. Miyano was also not as he was more worried about BLs coming to life than the fact that he is attracted to a guy.

Chibi Sasaki and Miyano from a scene

A minor thing I like is that whenever things get a bit awkward, confusing or cute, then the characters are shown in a chibi-ish way. I like chibi art, so this is also a reason why I enjoyed it. It was also pretty interesting. However, the thing that intrigues me, and I’m confused about it, is the depiction of stray cats in a lot of scenes. I don’t understand what these cats mean, and how are they related to the feelings between the two main characters. However, I just searched Reddit and someone said that cats have a lot of folklore in Japan. But I’m not sure which one, since I’m very new to Japanese culture.

Hirano Taiga

As far as I liked it, it may not be for those who like fast-paced, dark, or angsty animes. This anime is slow-paced, and the relationship was not formed immediately or in the end of the episode. Although this makes it more realistic, some people might be way too impatient. However, there is a lot of chemistry between the two, so this might save it, but you just need patience. I enjoyed the process of relationship building, as it wasn’t too rushed. That would’ve taken my enjoyment. But this didn’t engage me enough, even though it was an interesting watch.

Overall, it was a cute and light slice-of-life anime. It didn’t make much of an impact, but I would recommend it to an anime beginner as it is a good start to anime BLs, at least for me as a beginner myself. If you like seeing a relationship build-up, understated characters and slow-paced anime, then this is for you.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Comment